

May 13, 2024

Re: Greenway Transfer Station (Illinois EPA BOL ID# 0316305037) Transfer Station Permit (Log No 2024-126)

To Distribution List:

In accordance with the Illinois EPA's Environmental Justice Policy, the Office of Environmental Justice wants to provide you with information about a potential action. The Illinois EPA is sending this letter to notify you of an application received by the Bureau of Land (BOL).

The Illinois EPA has received an application for a Transfer Station Permit Log No 2024-126 for Greenway Transfer Station located at 2100 S Kilbourn Avenue in Chicago. The application requests a permit modification to maintain compliance with Section 22.38 of the Environmental Protection Act, which states, "ensure that no less than 40% of the total general construction or demolition debris (GCDD) received at the facility on a rolling 12-month average basis is recyclable general construction or demolition debris as defined in subsection (c)." The permit is issued subject to the development, operating and reporting requirements for Solid Waste Facilities in 35 IAC, Part 807 regulations.

The application is currently under review by the BOL.

If you would like to sign up to receive notifications by email, please visit the Illinois EPA Environmental Justice webpage: <u>https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/environmental-justice.html</u>

Si desea inscribirse para recibir notificaciones por correo electrónico, por favor visite la página web de Justicia Ambiental de la Agencia de Protección Ambiental de Illinois: <u>https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/environmental-justice/es.html</u>

If you have questions about the application, please contact Chris Pressnall, Environmental Justice Coordinator at (217) 524-1284, <u>EPA.OEJ@Illinois.gov</u>. Sincerely,

Chris Pressnall, Environmental Justice Coordinator

2125 S. First Street, Champaign, IL 61820 (217) 278-5800 115 S. LaSalle Street, Suite 2203, Chicago, IL 60603 1101 Eastport Plaza Dr., Suite 100, Collinsville, IL 62234 (618) 346-5120 9511 Harrison Street, Des Plaines, IL 60016 (847) 294-4000 595 S. State Street, Elgin, IL 60123 (847) 608-3131 2309 W. Main Street, Suite 116, Marion, IL 62959 (618) 993-7200 412 SW Washington Street, Suite D, Peoria, IL 61602 (309) 671-3022 4302 N. Main Street, Rockford, IL 61103 (815) 987-7760

Distribution List

Greenway Transfer Station - Contact Name* State Senator Lakesia Collins - State Senate District #5 State Representative Yolonda Morris - State Representative District # 9* U.S. Representative Danny K. Davis - U.S. Congressional District #7* U.S. Senator Richard J. Durbin* U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth* City of Chicago - Brandon Johnson, Mayor City of Chicago - City Ward 24 Alderman Monique Scott* Cook County Department of Environment & Sustainability* Cook County Board of Commissioners* Chicago Westside Branch NAACP - #3007 - Karl Brinson, President* Illinois NAACP - Gregory Norris* Illinois NAACP - Teresa Haley* American Lung Association of Illinois - Angela Tin* Respiratory Health Association - Brian P. Urbaszewski* Sierra Club – Jack Darin* Sierra Club – Christine Nannicelli* Sierra Club - Mila Marshall* Faith in Place - Rev. Brian Sauder* Illinois Environmental Regulatory Group - Kelly Thompson* Chemical Industry Council of Illinois - Lisa Frede* United States EPA - Kathy Triantafillou* IL Manufacturers' Association - Donovan Griffith* Shawnee Hills & Hollers - Georgia de la Garza* Shawnee Hills & Hollers - Sabrina Hardenbergh* Illinois Environmental Council - Jennifer Walling* LVEJO - Juliana Pino* Earthjustice - Jennifer Cassel* Earthjustice - Debbie Chizewer* Northwestern Pritzker School of Law - Robert A. Weinstock* Great Rivers Environmental Law Center - Sarah Rubenstein* Great Rivers Environmental Law Center - Cailtin Stiltner* Stericycle - Susan Olavarria* University of Illinois - Prairie Research Institute - Debra Jacobson* Illinois Attorney General's Office - Andrew Armstrong* Council of State Governments - Midwest - Jess Lienhardt* Exxon Mobil Corporation - Brad Sims* Taft Law - Ryan Rudich* Mostardi Platt - Jena DiFiore* Energy Infrastructure Partners - Matt Kok* Burns & McDonnell - Scott Cormier* Chicago Legal Clinic, Inc. - Keith Harley* Chicago-Kent College of Law - Joe Popely* CPI - Natalie Warkenthien* Ecolab Inc. - Michael Bickel* Environmental Law Counsel, P.C. - Patricia Sharkey* Freshwater Future - Kristen Haitaian* Friends of the Chicago River - Adam Flickinger* Friends of the Chicago River - Margaret Frisbie*

Gold Wave, Inc. - Brian A Voss* Illinois Dept. of Transportation - John Sherrill* Illinois Environmental Protection Agency - Sabrina Bailev* Lake County Stormwater Management Commission -Jacob Jozefowski* Langan - Vinicius De Paula* Metropolitan Mayors Caucus - Edith Makra* Natural Resource Defense Council - Ivan Moreno* One Earth Collective - Laurie Casey* PJM - Jill Gates* Sun-Times - Brett Chase* Waste Connections - Thomas Hilbert* Waste Management - Lisa Disbrow* Weaver Consultants Group - Wenjuan Zhai* Weaver Consultants Group* U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Alex Hoxsie* Mostardi Platt - Britt Wenzel* Dynamic Environmental Services - Kyle Webb* Roux Associates, Inc. - Mir Seyed Abbasi* Ridgewood Environmental - Jim Kallas* iChoosr - Fred Wu* Illinois Environmental Council - Samira Hanessian* NBC 5 Chicago - Bennett Haeberle* Brown and Caldwell - Jennifer Border* APMonarch - Nicole G.* Cook County Department of Facilities Management - Pat Nolan* Cook County Department of Environment and Sustainability - Ricardo Magallon* Nuclear Energy Information Service - Stephanie Bilenko* EdgeConneX - Haley Willis* Center for Neighborhood Technology - Cyatharine Alias* Kass Management - Cait Kane* Equity in Health Advisors Network, Inc. - Janice F. Guider* Alliance of the Southeast - Chris White* Blueprint Foundation - Monica E. Wright* Bridgeport Alliance - Anna Schibrowsky* Chicago DPH - Alfonso Martel* Chicago Urban League - Karen Youngblood* Illinois Attorney General's Office - Stephen Sylvester* NAAEE - Mary Ocwieja (NAAEE)* National Wildlife Federation - Sophee Langerman* People for Community Recovery - Cheryl Johnson* People's Council - Daniel Villalobos-Terrazas* Republic Services - Brian Holcomb* Sims Metal – Susan Donovan* Sims Metal Management - Deborah Hays* Southeast Environmental Task Force - Olga Bautista* Kass Management - Cait Kane* Neighbors for Environmental Justice The Equiticity Racial Equity Movement - Olatunji Oboi Reed* Vedder Price PC - Danielle Cassel* LVEJO - Kimberly Wasserman* LVEJO - Edith Tovar*