

1021 North Grand Avenue East, P.O. Box 19276, Springfield, Illinois 62794-9276 · (217) 782-3397

JB PRITZKER, GOVERNOR

JOHN J. KIM, DIRECTOR

May 3, 2024

Re: Ameresco Upper Rock (Illinois EPA BOA ID# 161025AEU)

Joint Construction and Lifetime Operating Permit (21020035)

To Distribution List:

In accordance with the Illinois EPA's Environmental Justice Policy, the Office of Environmental Justice wants to provide you with information about a potential action. The Illinois EPA is sending this letter to notify you of an application received by the Bureau of Air (BOA).

The Illinois EPA has received an application for a Joint Construction and Lifetime Operating Permit 21020035 for Ameresco Upper Rock located at 17201 20th Ave N in East Moline. The source is a gas processing facility. It will receive landfill gas from the Upper Rock Island County Landfill, Inc. and process it into renewable natural gas which will be piped to a metering station and injected into a natural gas pipeline. The source will use thermal oxidizer and open flare to combust waste gas.

The application is currently under review by the BOA.

If you would like to sign up to receive notifications by email, please visit the Illinois EPA Environmental Justice webpage: https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/environmental-justice.html

If you have questions about the application, please contact Chris Pressnall, Environmental Justice Coordinator at (217) 524-1284, <u>EPA.OEJ@Illinois.gov</u>. Sincerely,

Chris Pressnall, Environmental Justice Coordinator

Distribution List

Ameresco Upper Rock - Richard Peary*

State Senator Michael W. Halpin - State Senate District #36

State Representative Gregg Johnson - State Representative District #72*

U.S. Representative Eric Sorensen - U.S. Congressional District #17*

U.S. Senator Richard J. Durbin*

U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth*

City of East Moline - Reggie Freeman, Mayor*

City of East Moline - City Council*

Rock Island County Board*

Rock Island County Branch NAACP - #3268 - Bonnie Ballard, President

Illinois NAACP - Gregory Norris*

Illinois NAACP - Teresa Haley*

American Lung Association of Illinois - Angela Tin*

Respiratory Health Association - Brian P. Urbaszewski*

Sierra Club - Jack Darin*

Sierra Club - Christine Nannicelli*

Sierra Club - Mila Marshall*

Faith in Place - Rev. Brian Sauder*

Illinois Environmental Regulatory Group – Kelly Thompson*

Chemical Industry Council of Illinois - Lisa Frede*

United States EPA - Kathy Triantafillou*

IL Manufacturers' Association - Donovan Griffith*

Shawnee Hills & Hollers – Georgia de la Garza*

Shawnee Hills & Hollers - Sabrina Hardenbergh*

Illinois Environmental Council – Jennifer Walling*

LVEJO - Juliana Pino*

Earthjustice – Jennifer Cassel*

Earthjustice - Debbie Chizewer*

Northwestern Pritzker School of Law - Robert A. Weinstock*

Great Rivers Environmental Law Center - Sarah Rubenstein*

Great Rivers Environmental Law Center - Cailtin Stiltner*

Stericycle - Susan Olavarria*

University of Illinois - Prairie Research Institute - Debra Jacobson*

Illinois Attorney General's Office – Andrew Armstrong*

Council of State Governments - Midwest - Jess Lienhardt*

Exxon Mobil Corporation – Brad Sims*

Taft Law - Ryan Rudich*

Mostardi Platt – Jena DiFiore*

 $Energy\ Infrastructure\ Partners-Matt\ Kok*$

Langan - Vinicius De Paula*

*Receiving E-Notifications